Pence Announces Over $1 million in Grants to Pay for Brutal Storm

Indiana will receive more than a million dollars in federal grants to help both local and state governments, as well as public service organizations, recover from a January winter storm.

Governor Mike Pence announce a total of 30 counties were granted federal public assistance after the brutal winter storm that lasted 4 days last January.

So far, a total of $1,130,340 has been processed to reimburse eligible counties for their emergency expenses. The Indiana Department of Homeland Security and the Federal Emergency management Agency is working toward distributing more money as more counties apply.

Public assistance will pay 75 percent of damage to roads, bridges, utilities, snow equipment, water control facilities, parks and other buildings. Emergency costs will also be covered such as traffic control and rescue operations.

Counties granted public assistance include: Allen, Blackford, Boone, Clay, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, Marion, Madison, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley.

According to a press release, all of those counties except Owen and Vanderburgh are receiving assistance for at least 48 hours of snow assistance. Noble and Whitley counties are being provided with 72 hours of snow assistance. “Snow Assistance” grants cover all eligible costs associated with snow removal for the 48-hour or 72-hour period with the highest costs.