Long Announces Senate Committee Picks, New Chairs

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Indiana senators are getting committee assignments that will leave a handful of the chamber's panels with new leaders heading into the legislative session.

Republican Sen. Jean Leising of Oldenburg is taking the reins of the Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee and Republican Sen. Carlin Yoder of Middlebury will take over chairmanship of the Homeland Security and Transportation Committee.

The changes for the 2015 session that begins Jan. 7 follow a round of retirements in the past year and the addition of eight new Republican senators. Republicans outnumber Democrats 10-1 in the Indiana Senate.

Senate President Pro Tem David Long announced the new assignments Friday afternoon.