Local Senators to Lead Committees

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (WOWO): We are getting our first look at what GOP leadership in the Indiana Senate will look like for the upcoming general assembly.

A number of local state senators have been named committee chairs. Senator Dennis Kruse of Auburn remains as the head of the Education and Career Committee. Travis Holdman of Markle directs Insurance and Financial Institutions, Jim Banks of Columbia City is charge of Veterans Affairs and the military.

Sue Glick of LaGrange leads Natural Resources and Senate President Pro Tem David Long of Fort Wayne is the chair of the Rules and Legislative Procedure committee. 

Senators will meet at the State House, Oct. 18 for “Organization Day.” During meetings that day, Senators will be sworn-in and begin preparing for the 2015 General Assembly.

The 2015-2016 Senate Republican leadership team is as follows:
President Pro Tempore – Sen. David Long (R-Fort Wayne)
Assistant President Pro Tempore – Sen. Patricia Miller (R-Indianapolis)
Majority Floor Leader – Sen. Brandt Hershman (R-Buck Creek)
Majority Floor Leader Emeritus – Sen. Joe Zakas (R-Granger)
Assistant Majority Floor Leader, Communications – Sen. Randy Head (R-Logansport)
Assistant Majority Floor Leader, Parliamentary Affairs – Sen. Brent Steele (R-Bedford)
Majority Caucus Chairman – Sen. Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis)
Assistant Majority Caucus Chair – Sen. Jim Tomes (R-Wadesville)
Assistant Majority Caucus Chair – Sen. Rod Bray (R-Martinsville)
Majority Whip – Sen. Ryan Mishler (R-Bremen)

2015-2016 Senate Committee Chairmanships are as follows:
Senate Committee on Agriculture – Sen. Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg)
Senate Committee on Appropriations – Sen. Luke Kenley (R-Noblesville)
Senate Committee on Civil Law – Sen. Joe Zakas (R-Granger)
Senate Committee on Commerce and Technology – Sen. Jim Buck (R-Kokomo)
Senate Committee on Corrections and Criminal Law – Sen. Mike Young (R-Indianapolis)
Senate Committee on Education and Career Development – Sen. Dennis Kruse (R-Auburn)
Senate Committee on Elections – Sen. Greg Walker (R-Columbus)
Senate Committee on Environmental Affairs – Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R-Valparaiso)
Senate Committee on Family and Children – Sen. Ron Grooms (R-Jeffersonville)
Senate Committee on Insurance and Financial Institutions – Sen. Travis Holdman (R-Markle)
Senate Committee on Health and Provider Services – Sen. Patricia Miller (R-Indianapolis)
Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Transportation – Sen. Carlin Yoder (R-Middlebury)
Senate Committee on Judiciary – Sen. Brent Steele (R-Bedford)
Senate Committee on Local Government – Sen. Randy Head (R-Logansport)
Senate Committee on Natural Resources – Sen. Sue Glick (R-LaGrange)
Senate Committee on Pensions and Labor – Sen. Phil Boots (R-Crawfordsville)
Senate Committee on Public Policy – Sen. Ron Alting (R-Lafayette)
Senate Committee on Tax and Fiscal Policy – Sen. Brandt Hershman (R-Buck Creek)
Senate Committee on Utilities – Sen. Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis)
Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs and the Military – Sen. Jim Banks (R-Columbia City)*
Senate Committee on Ethics – Sen. Doug Eckerty (R-Yorktown)
<em> Senate Committee on Rules and Legislative Procedure – Sen. David Long (R-Fort Wayne)

* – Sen. Mike Crider (R-Greenfield) will serve as interim chairman of the Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs and the Military until Sen. Banks returns from his overseas duties.