Kalamazoo, Toledo become Komets division rivals in new ECHL alignment

(Photo Supplied/Fort Wayne Komets)

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WOWO): After a year apart, the Fort Wayne Komets will battle for the division lead with the Kalamazoo Wings and Toledo Walleye again.

The ECHL announced its conference and divisional alignment for the 2016-2017 season on Monday.

The Komets will play in the Western Conference and Central Division. In the Central Division, they’ll compete with the likes of Kalamazoo, Toledo, the Indy Fuel, Quad City Mallards, Tulsa Oilers and Wichita Thunder.

One notable team switching conferences and divisions is the Cincinnati Cyclones. After playing in the Western Conference/Midwest Division with Fort Wayne and Quad City this past season, they instead will play in the Eastern Conference/South Division in 16-17.

Here’s the complete breakdown of conferences and divisions:

Eastern Conference

North Division
Adirondack Thunder, Brampton Beast, Elmira Jackals, Manchester Monarchs, Reading Royals, Wheeling Nailers

South Division
Atlanta Gladiators, Cincinnati Cyclones, Florida Everblades, Greenville Swamp Rabbits, Norfolk Admirals, Orlando Solar Bears, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Central Division
Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Kalamazoo Wings, Quad City Mallards, Toledo Walleye, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder

Mountain Division
Alaska Aces, Allen Americans, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Missouri Mavericks, Rapid City Rush, Utah Grizzlies

The first two rounds of the Kelly Cup Playoffs will be played entirely within the division. The division winner playing the fourth-place finisher and the second-place team meeting the third-place team in the Division Semifinals. The winners of each series will meet in the Division Finals, leading to the Conference Finals and Kelly Cup Finals.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here