Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents names Dr. Craig J. Hintz State Superintendent of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS – October 16, 2012 –Dr. Craig J. Hintz, superintendent of Warsaw Community School Corporation, has been selected State Superintendent of the Year for 2013 by the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents

“At a time when school districts across the state are wrestling with declining resources and increased expectations, under Dr. Hintz’s leadership Warsaw Community School Corporation is flourishing by maximizing outside resources,” said Dr. Walter Bourke, IAPSS executive director.  “The district was selected earlier this year by the Indiana Department of Education to receive the state’s largest innovation grant to create an elementary school science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) academy.  It was also the Organizational Partner of the Year for 2011 for OrthoWorx, a community-based initiative working with the orthopedic industry and other stakeholders in the Warsaw area.  Dr. Hintz and the district are using these grants and partnerships to develop strategic focus, enhance academic programs and provide leadership training for administrators and principals.”

            Warsaw is home to three multi-billion dollar global companies in the medical device industry, representing nearly one-third of the global orthopedic market. “His drive to make Warsaw Community Schools among the best in the nation is consistent with the needs and aspirations of the orthopedic industry,” said Brad Bishop, executive director of OrthoWorx.  “We compete on a global basis and our future depends on our ability to attract and retain the best minds in a wide variety of disciplines.” 

Hintz is working toward making Warsaw Community School the education capital of Indiana and a national model for educational excellence.  Hintz worked with the community to develop a strategic plan which culminated in the following mission statement: Our mission is to inspire and equip all students to continuously acquire and apply knowledge and skills while pursuing their dreams and enriching the lives of others.

In addition to creating the elementary STEM academy, Warsaw Community School Corporation recently implemented full-day kindergarten in all elementary schools. The district also enhanced its world language offerings, including Mandarin Chinese, as well as adding courses in dance, culinary arts, biomedical, Project Lead the Way curriculum for STEM, orchestra, and additional Advanced Placement (AP) and dual credit courses.

During Hintz’s tenure, the high school graduation rate has increased by nearly 12 percent and student achievement has increased exponentially, ranking 11th in the state for growth.

Dr. Tony Bennett, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction, said:  “Craig’s level of excellence is second to none.  Under his leadership as superintendent, Warsaw Community School Corporation has become one of the top school districts in our state.  Additionally, his attention to detail has driven quality decision making affecting more than 7,000 students.”

Hintz has served as Warsaw Community Schools’ superintendent since 2009.  He previously served as a school improvement specialist in Minnesota, an associate deputy and associate superintendent for the Minneapolis Public Schools, associate superintendent for the Minnetonka (Minn.) Public Schools, superintendent of the Metropolitan School District of Warren Township in Indianapolis, and an administrator and teacher in the North Scott (Iowa) Community School District.  

Hintz earned his bachelor’s degree from Truman State University, his master’s degree from Phillips University, an education specialist degree from Western Illinois University, and his education doctorate from Indiana University. Hintz, a veteran of the United States Air Force, retired from the United States Army Reserve at the rank of lieutenant colonel.

As Indiana Superintendent of the Year for 2013, Hintz will be Indiana’s representative in the American Association of School Administrators National Superintendent of the Year program.