FWPD to Award Firefighters, Citizens for Bravery

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WOWO): The Fort Wayne Fire Department will honor firefighters, citizen heroes and corporate partners Wednesday during the annual FWFD Service Awards.  Awards will be presented to:

Firefighter Meritorious Award

Pvt. Eric Zeiger – For actions assisting subjects and emergency personnel after a stabbing on September 9, 2012

Firefighter Commendation Award
Pvt. Andrew Beachy – For saving a hypothermic near drowning man during a water rescue on January 1, 2013.

Pvt. John Sierra – For locating and evacuating a resident overcome by smoke at a house fire on August 9, 2012.

Citizen Action Award for Valor
Thomas Vachon – For lifesaving action at house fire on April 26, 2012.
Brian Poitras – For lifesaving action at house fire on July 2, 2012.

Citizen Meritorious Award
Alfredo Ortega – For assisting trapped residents at house fire on September 7, 2012.

Mike Meek and Kirk Ray – For initiating first aid at scene of possible drowning until emergency responders arrived on August 24, 2012 .

Kirsten Cochran, Tim Geary and Ethan Schorey – For pulling free a trapped subject after a vehicle rollover accident on October 31, 2012.

Brent Belote – For extinguishing a vehicle fire after an auto accident with a subject unconscious and pinned inside on January 16, 2013.