Eight schools in Indiana honored with National Blue Ribbon Award

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today recognized 269 schools as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools based on their overall academic excellence or for making progress in improving student academic achievement levels.  This year, eight schools in Indiana received the  National Blue Ribbon Schools award.
The National Blue Ribbon Schools award honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of achievement. 
The program recognizes schools in one of two performance categories. The first category is “Exemplary High Performing,” in which schools are recognized among their state’s highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests. The second category is “Exemplary Improving,” in which schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests.
To select National Blue Ribbon Schools, the Department requests nominations from the top education official in every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools. A total of 417 schools nationwide may be nominated, with allocations determined by the numbers of K-12 students and schools in each jurisdiction. The Secretary of Education invites nominated schools to submit an application for possible recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School. 

The list of schools in Indiana being recognized as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools is below:
Douglas MacArthur Elementary School</strong>
12900 Fairbanks Avenue
Cedar Lake, IN 46303-9446
Phone: (219) 662-3600
Principal: Ms. Marian Buchko
School District: Crown Point Community
   School Corporation
Ferdinand Elementary School
402 East 8th Street
Ferdinand, IN 47532-9156
Phone: (812) 367-2721
Principal: Mr. Lee Begle
School District: Southeast Dubois County
   School Corporation
LaSalle Intermediate Academy
2701 West Elwood
South Bend, IN 46628-2806
Phone: (574) 283-7500
Principal: Mr. Nathan Boyd
School District: South Bend Community
   School Corporation
New Palestine High School
P O Box 448
New Palestine, IN 46163-0448
Phone: (317) 861-4417
Principal: Mr. Keith Fessler
School District: Southern Hancock County
   Community School Corporation
Northview Elementary School
257 Northview Drive
Valparaiso, IN 46383-3019
Phone: (219) 531-3100
Principal: Mr. Loren Hershberger
School District: Valparaiso Community Schools
Smoky Row Elementary School
900 West 136th Street
Carmel, IN 46032-1312
Phone: (317) 571-4084
Principal: Mrs. Kim Barrett
School District: Carmel Clay Schools
Webster Elementary School
1101 South Michigan Street
Plymouth, IN 46563-1817
Phone: (574) 936-2520
Principal: Ms. Carrie McGuire
School District: Plymouth Community
   School Corporation
Yorktown High School
1100 South Tiger Drive
Yorktown, IN 47396-9313
Phone: (765) 759-2550
Principal: Mrs. Kelly Wittman
School District: Yorktown Community Schools