Bob Chase Awarded Lester Patrick Trophy

Komet broadcaster honored at U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony…

Komet broadcaster Bob Chase had the perfect night last night.  He was honored with one of Hockey’s most prestigious awards while surrounded by family and friends at the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame during a sold-out ceremony held at the Plaza of the Americas in Dallas, Texas.

Chase was presented with the 2012 Lester Patrick Trophy in a presentation that included the inductions of hockey greats Lou Lamoriello, Mike Modano and Eddie Olczyk who were formally enshrined into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

The NHL has presented the Lester Patrick Trophy annually since 1966 in honor of Lester Patrick. Patrick spent 50 years in hockey as a player, coach and general manager and was pioneer in the sport’s development. In addition to Chase, Dick Patrick, president of the Washington Capitals since 1982 and grandson of Lester Patrick, also received the honor.

Chase moved to Fort Wayne in 1953 and began his career at WOWO AM 1190 Radio which included broadcasting Komet hockey games starting with the 1953-54 season.  The legendary broadcaster has called all nine Fort Wayne’s league championships and 12 regular season titles during his six decades of broadcasting Komet hockey.  

“I owe so much to so many, and all to hockey,” Chase said at the awards ceremony last night. Chase continues at radio-rinkside and the 2012-13 season is his 60th anniversary season of broadcasting play-by-play of Komet games.

Komet president Michael Franke attended last night’s presentation in Dallas.  “The hockey world found out last night how much of a treasure Bob has been to the game of hockey, something Komet fans have know for 60 years,” Franke said.

Chase will be back at the microphone this Friday night to continue his broadcasting of Komet hockey games when the Komets skate at Kalamazoo at 7:30pm.