7 Selected for Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. (AP) _ Longtime Jasper Herald editor John Rumbauch and Indianapolis Star editorial cartoonist Gary Varvel are among seven people who will be inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame as its 50th anniversary class.

The others selected are Bob Daugherty, a Marion native who covered seven presidents during their White House terms as a photographer for The Associated Press; Tom French, an Indiana University journalism professor who won the Pulitzer Prize while at the St. Petersburg Times; the late Gene Slaymaker, who was news director for Indianapolis radio station WTLC-FM; the late Lotys Stewart, who was The Indianapolis Star's fashion editor; and Cleve Wilhoit, a retired IU journalism professor and researcher.

The group will be honored during an Oct. 24 ceremony at Indiana University in Bloomington. 

  Online: http://indianajournalismhof.org/